Lawyers’ Committee to Pay Tribute to Jennifer Clarke

Executive director Jennifer Clarke will receive the Edwin D. Wolf Award from the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law on December 14.

The Edwin D. Wolf Award honors a past or present staff member of the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law National Office, or one of the independent Local Committees, who has exhibited outstanding service and commitment to civil rights. Ms. Clarke is being presented with this award in honor of her exceptional leadership and longstanding commitment to the cause of equal justice.

Edwin (Ned) Wolf was founder and the first executive director of the Public Interest Law Center. The Law Center opened its doors in 1969 as a local affiliate of the Lawyers’ Committee, but it was at the urging of Mr. Wolf that the leadership of the Philadelphia Bar Association incorporated the Law Center in 1974, establishing a full-time staff of attorneys dedicated to creating systemic change.

Ms. Clarke will receive the award on Monday, December 14th at the Lawyers’ Committee’s 2015 Annual Awards Reception, to be held from 6-7:30 p.m. at the Cravath, Swaine & Moore law firm in New York.